Cuttings v2.0

Sorry for the shock – 2 blog posts in so short a time. Yep, it’s time for another relaunch of Home on the Hill. You see, the main purpose of this blog is as a bit of a diary for me – but it doesn’t fulfil that function because I tried just posting once a month, and then it seemed such a huge task, that I simply didn’t do it. So now I’m going to try a ‘little and often’ approach, taking lots of photographs (which I do anyway) and letting them do the talking. I might even manage a weekly post, but don’t hold your breath!

So it’s Sunday afternoon and I’ve knocked off a little early this weekend because we’re off to Cornwall for a few days so I need to pack. Actually, we’re back now but I held off publishing so they weren’t too close together.

My friend Elaine does the ornamental parts of our garden for us – one whole acre is just too much for folk with full-time jobs. A couple of weeks ago she told me to take some cuttings of the salvias she had planted. Now I’m not great at cuttings but I had a go. But then we had an unseasonal heatwave last week (28 degrees Centigrade in September) and they ended up looking like this (they were in a heated propagator too):

img_3138

So today I had another go:

Then I went in the house and consulted the bible on how to do these things. Maybe should have done that first because I’m not sure I followed any of the instructions well. So we’ll see if they root.

I also did quite a lot of tidying up. I’d got a bit behind with the strimming because I was at the Permaculture Convergence one weekend, then ill the next weekend. Here’s some pics of the untidy bits:

And here’s a few before and after shots to finish:

About Home on the Hill

Organic gardening, chook keeping, permaculture, knitting, sewing, cooking, in lovely Warwickshire in the English midlands.
This entry was posted in Organic gardening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

