New season begins with the Edible Garden Show and a HEOG meeting

So the 2016 season is off to a good start with a trip to the Edible Garden Show and the first HEOG meeting of the year.

We had booked tickets for the Edible Garden Show way back in the autumn as it has returned to Stoneleigh which is very close to where we live. We went the first year (2011, I think) and haven’t been back since. Although it has grown since then and now fills 2 exhibition stalls, we were a little disappointed in the range of stuff and are not sure we’ll bother again. A big thing on my shopping list was seeds, and I have decided for 2016 to go as organic as possible and use organic seeds where they are available. Sadly, they weren’t available at the show – if they were, I didn’t manage to find them. I did buy some non-organic flower seeds to add to an ornamental area of the garden. Not that I subscribe to the idea that only food should be grown organically, more that I didn’t think I’d be able to get organic seeds of chinese chives from alternative suppliers. Most of the other stuff for sale seemed a bit ‘gadgety’ if I’m honest. There were lots of tools, but when you’ve been gardening for years, you don’t need to buy many tools. It all seemed a little too much like the GW show at Birmingham, full of stuff bought by people who like the idea of gardening but would rather buy it than do it. One exhibitor caught our eye – a compostinIMG_0125g toilet system. For some time I’ve been planning to install a loo in the lower reaches of the garden. My plan was to buy a shed and just pop a simple bucket and loo seat in it, with the bucket filled with sawdust – this would only be suitable for urine, but who pops down the garden for a poo? Ecotoilets supply a much posher system – fancy shed, separating toilet for liquid and solid waste, solar panels for provide light. But all in all, I think this is rather overkill for a garden loo – much more suited to allotment sites and boats etc. Mind you, I am tempted to replace one of the loos in our house with one of these fancy ones – it always seems such a waste to flush all that lovely nitrogen away.

A highlight of the morning was meeting Sean Cameron from the horticultural channel. He was an interesting and engaging speaker and has given me food for thought about this blog and my twitter, instagram and facebook activities.

After lunch we headed into the second hall. This was full of delicious food vendors, which we wish we had known before we bought boring sandwiches from the main cafe. It was labelled as the ‘good life’ exhibition and I was expecting more crafts and homemaking skills than artisan foods. So although it was interesting, we bought very little as we were full from our lunch.

IMG_0144An enjoyable part of the show is the smallholding section. I keep a few chooks and have no intention of expanding the livestock here, but I do love to see and hear about smallholding and the small-scale keeping of animals. So we watched the goats and sheep for a while.

 

 

HEOG meeting

After a successful potato day, the HEOG meetings started again properly with a talk from Suzanne from Down to Earth in Earlsdon, Coventry. It’s not a shop I’m familiar with as I don’t really go to Coventry to shop, and certainly not for food. But the conversation was interesting and I particularly liked the idea of organic meat and fish being sold from ‘under the counter’ so as not to upset the vegan customers. I must confess, I’m more interested in hearing about gardening and growing than shopping, and I tend to choose local food over organic (I do lots of our shopping at a farm shop on my way home from work, then top up with a Suma order every few months and supermarkets for everything these places don’t supply). My issue with this type of shop is that they are quite difficult for a working person to access – there’s nothing near my place of work, and they tend to be closed by the time I get home. I know I could shop on Saturdays, but I resent spending daylight hours shopping when I could be in the garden. So I’m not a great supporter of independent organic shops, I’m afraid. But the talk about how the business has grown and developed over the years was enlightening.

HEOG have a full programme of events lined up for the summer and autumn, and I have a new camera, so I’m hoping to document them more, take more photos and blog a little more. But we’ll see – I’ve planned that before and not done it, so I’m not prepared to make any promises!

 

About Home on the Hill

Organic gardening, chook keeping, permaculture, knitting, sewing, cooking, in lovely Warwickshire in the English midlands.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Organic gardening and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New season begins with the Edible Garden Show and a HEOG meeting

  1. Pingback: Potato Day and Seedy Sunday | Home on the Hill

Leave a Reply

