House concerts

So, not a gardening post, for a change.

Besides the garden, and my crafts, the other thing we both enjoy is music. Keith is a really good musician – I’d link to some of his music, but he doesn’t record much at all, preferring the live experience. And we both enjoy live music. Not huge stadium bands, but more intimate happenings – house concerts. Here’s a BBC article about this phenomena.

The idea is that a host, with a large enough room, books an artist, usually a duo or solo act, then invites friends, neighbours and anyone else they can think of. I’d heard of these, and even tried to organise one once as a birthday treat for Keith, but failed to find a good act to book. Then, about a year ago, I spotted an ad on the notice board at a local farm shop, for Sheep Dip Sessions – followed it up and found myself on a mailing list. The hook originally was Dana and Susan Robinson, who we’d seen before, and really like. But they cancelled, after an i9ncident involving a snake and a fall from a ladder! Still, we decided to go along anyway and ended up seeing Rag Mama Rag.

I feel like I should add some pics here, but I never take photos because it feels rather intrusive in such a small room – 30 tickets is the maximum. I could purloin some from the artists’ websites, but then, you could just follow the links, if you’re interested …

Anyway, on Friday night we went to see Red Dirt Skinners – another excellent night. I’m not going to try and write a review, because I don’t think it’s something I can do well. What I would say is, if you get a chance to see any of these bands, then follow it up. And if you can find a house concert locally, get involved. And if you have space to host one … In fact, we probably need to do that sometime.

 

About Home on the Hill

Organic gardening, chook keeping, permaculture, knitting, sewing, cooking, in lovely Warwickshire in the English midlands.
This entry was posted in Live music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

