First skirt for many years

As well as lots of gardening (did I mention in the last post? Been working hard on the courtyard garden, but I want to wait for it to have developed a bit before putting up a proper “it’s finished” post – so maybe this time next year), I’ve been sewing again. I haven’t sewn any garments for myself for years – I could never make them fit properly, but inspired by sewing blogs such as Tilly and the Buttons, and Did You Make That, I decided that I could learn to do this.

I had some fabric that I bought in Brighton a few years ago, and decided to use that to start with – as it was already in my stash it would cost nothing. I bought an old pattern from Ebay (New Look 6875) that I thought would flatter my waistless shape. I checked the measurements on the pattern and was astounded to find that I have a size 18 waist, with size 12 hips! In the shops, I would buy size 10 or 12. Oh well, I looked up how to alter the pattern to be the right shape – basically altering the shape of the yoke, and cut it out. To say I am pleased with the result is an under-statement (I have even had compliments from random strangers at work, who had no idea it was home-made). Here’s some pics (taken in the courtyard garden).

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I think my button placement needs some practice:

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

but I did learn about how to finish seams properly (no idea why, but they didn’t teach me this at school, and yes, I am old enough to have done needlework at school):

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

and to perfect an invisible hem:

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

So, buoyed up by this success, I went to Birmingham’s fantastic fabric shops and bought material for 2 more:

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The vege themed one is next to me on the sofa right now, for me to hand-sew the gathering stitches, just as soon as this post is published.

About Home on the Hill

Organic gardening, chook keeping, permaculture, knitting, sewing, cooking, in lovely Warwickshire in the English midlands.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

