October 2010

I didn’t think I’d done much crafty since last post – but when I think about it, there’s quite a bit.

I finished the penultimate wallhanging – the winter solstice one. I’ll photograph the full set together when they’re all finished – and that will be by summer solstice 2011!
The waistcoat I’m knitting for Keith is coming on well – it’s a bit boring to knit, so I try to do 2 rows before I go to my more interesting project which is….
I’ve started knitting a baby cardigan with some lovely wool I bought at Yarn Gathering in Coventry, before that all went pear-shaped. It’s in a new born size and the yarn is pink and beige – it will go into my ‘Hope Chest’ until someone has a baby girl. Here’s piccie of work so far:
I need now to check I have the right needle for the next bit – if not, I need to find an online supplier as my new job is nowhere near a knitting shop, and there’s not one in Rugby either.
I’ve also been doing some dressmaking – I made a skirt, but out of scrap material. It’s okay for gardening in, but I’n not going to stick a photo up here. I’ve bought some navy corduroy to make a nice skirt from the same pattern, but that I can wear in public. My main problem with dress-making is that standard sizes don’t fit me – big boobs, narrow back, no waist, skinny hips. I altered the skirt pattern and was dead chuffed with the outcome. I’ve also bought on Ebay, a pattern for a blouse. This will need a Full Bust Alteration (FBA) so that’s the next trick I plan to learn.
I’m not sure it counts as craft, but I spent a jolly Friday creating an amazing princess bed for Maddie. There are fairy lights on the ceiling, then a canopy hung below this so the lights twinkle through it. Then Maddie had added pink Christmas decorations. It’s completely OTT and very girly – but she loves it and it was fun to do.
The final thing to talk about is an idea put forward on the At The Kitchen Table podcast – the idea that the enjoyment of crafty things is something that should be shared within a community, that joining a group is a good thing. My problem is that all the groups I’m aware of are single craft groups – so there’s several local knitting groups, a local quilting group etc. I almost went to a knitting group last month – but it was the one at Yarn Gathering in Coventry that I’d planned to go to. Hmmm – something to think about.
Well, that’s all for this month. Plans are to finish the baby sweater, make progress with Keith’s waistcoat and actually get organised to practice the free-motion quilting, because that hasn’t happened yet. Maybe I could get that done tomorrow night?
About Home on the Hill

Organic gardening, chook keeping, permaculture, knitting, sewing, cooking, in lovely Warwickshire in the English midlands.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Festivals, Winter Solstice and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

