September 2010

It’s been a long time since my last post. I’ve been working full time all summer, and am about to start a new job – a full time one. I haven’t worked full time since I moved in with Keith in 1991, but I think I’ve got used to it now. And I am finding time to knit and sew – even if it’s just a few hours each week.

So, the blue green scarf I talked about last time got ripped and put away – the pattern was supposed to go with the yarn, but I bought it at a busy show and I think the woman gave me the wrong pattern because it just wasn’t working out at all. Someone helpful on Ravelry, suggested that I need to use much smaller needles with that yarn – so it’s gone away until I’m ready to try again.
Keith’s waistcoat has also been put away – but only because it’s too warm to knit in summer. I’m currently working on the penultimate wall-hanging (for Winter Solstice), but the waistcoat will be picked up again after that. I hope Keith will be wearing it before Spring. We’ll see.
I did get the Multnomah scarf knitted and I’m really pleased with it. Here’s some piccies:
I also finished the boy quilt. Now I need to get started on a new girl quilt so I have one of each ready for any new arrivals. My daughter in law is expecting a new baby in April, and my brother and his wife are having IVF treatment, so I need to get on with things!
I’ve been experimenting with free-motion quilting as I want to use it on the next cot quilt. I’m not very good, but all the tips say practice is the key to it. So I guess I just need to do more. My trouble is, I hate to throw anything away, so I keep thinking that I’ll practice on pan holders, or Christmas place mats or …. Then, I think ‘don’t make a project of it, just get on with it’. So I need to just dig out some cheap fabric (I have some old sheets for just this purpose) and some batting and get on with it. Here’s a piccie of an early attempt:
That’s all for now – not many projects, but quite a lot of work. More (hopefully) next month.
About Home on the Hill

Organic gardening, chook keeping, permaculture, knitting, sewing, cooking, in lovely Warwickshire in the English midlands.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

