Crafting in December

Well, obviously December is a VERY busy month but it’s a good time for craft projects. Things have been a little manic here but I seem to have got quite
a lot done.

First, knitting – lots more pics on
Ravelry – find me as Home on the Hill
I’ve finished the drop stitch scarf on the right.
Keith’s waistcoat is
coming on well but it’s full of very boring knitting – which is just
what I need right now:
I also made a Christmas dress for Erin and a stocking (inspired by Kirsty Allsop on the tele)
Other crafting was at my herb group

meeting where we made natural wreaths – more on this at Home on the Hill
One thing I try and do at this time of the year is make a list of projects I’d like to complete for the following year. I haven’t done that yet as I’ve been too busy. Hopefully, now I’ve started thinking about it, I’ll be able to compile a list later this evening (got to go and organise our evening meal in a few minutes). When I have a new list, I’ll come back and edit this post.
Right, now to get that Moroccan lamb stew on the table.
Craft List for 2010
The list isn’t everything I plan to make in 2010 – just some stuff that needs finishing and things that I want to do in the coming year, that can’t really but put off for long (like making Erin a rag doll).
  • Autumn equinox wall hanging (wip)
  • Summer solstice wall hanging
  • Winter solstice wall hanging
  • Rag doll for Erin
  • KT’s waistcoat (wip)
  • Lace scarf for me (wip)
  • Cushion covers for dining chairs (wip)
  • Boy quilt (wip)
  • Girl quilt
  • Dressmaking – clothes for me
  • Knit cardigan or jacket for me
That’s it for the list. I also would like to knit me a small shawl or triangular scarf – but it’s not on the list because it’s not a ‘must do’. Other plans include knitting a bowl and fulling it because I like the look of them and I’ve had the yarn for ages – but it might turn into a Monmouth cap instead. I want to make a summer dress or two for Erin and hopefully make some Christmas gifts for next year as I didn’t do any this year. More knitted dishcloths (for us) would be nice. And I just might buy a spinning wheel!
Not sure if it should be listed here or on my gardening list, but I want to make some willow plant supports before Spring.
So that’s it. Let’s see how much I actually do in 2010.
About Home on the Hill

Organic gardening, chook keeping, permaculture, knitting, sewing, cooking, in lovely Warwickshire in the English midlands.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Crafts, Festivals, Herbs, Organic gardening, Winter Solstice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

