Beginning

The idea was to have a blog so my mum could see how the quilt I’m making for her godson’s new baby is coming on. But she’s gone on holiday and the quilt might be finished before she gets back!

Still, it seemed like a good idea to help me keep a record of all kinds of stuff.
So, we went last week to my favorite patchwork shop, The Bramble Patch in Weedon and chose some fabric – it took a while but we got there in the end. I also chose some fabric to make a cot quilt for my friend, Lucy, who is expecting her first child in November. My cousin’s (mum’s godson) child isn’t due until January.
I’ve started cutting and some sewing – the one for mum is in pastel blue, pink and yellow, very traditional. The one for Lucy is in autumnal colours of red, green and gold because I like to work with them and the baby will be born in autumn (like my son was – lovely time of year to have a baby).
Here’s the cut out pieces in my sewing drawer, and also the plan I’m working from – so you can see where this is going.
More soon….Carrie
About Home on the Hill

Organic gardening, chook keeping, permaculture, knitting, sewing, cooking, in lovely Warwickshire in the English midlands.
This entry was posted in Crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

